Los Angeles Fault Line Flag

Los Angeles, Earthquakes, Brawley Seismic Zone, Chino Fault, Elsinore Fault Zone, Elysian Park Fault, Garlock Fault, Hollywood fault, Hosgri Fault, Imperial Fault Zone, Laguna Salada Fault, Newport–Inglewood Fault, Peninsular Ranges, Puente Hills Fault, Raymond Fault, Rose Canyon Fault, Salton Trough, Salinian Block, San Cayetano Fault, San Felipe Fault Zone, San Gabriel Fault, San Jacinto Fault Zone, Santa Maria River Fault, Santa Ynez Fault, Shoreline Fault, Sierra Madre Fault Zone, Ventura Fault, White Wolf Fault, Whittier Fault, Yorba Linda Fault

This flag design was proposed by Ricardo Tomasz. It is designed to represent Los Angeles, and the fault lines that define the landscape. It incorporates the existing city flag colors, but rearranges them for important iconography. The green represents the lush landscape and olive trees that dotted the original area. The yellow represents the bright sun that warms Los Angeles year round. The red triangles represent 4 of the major fault lines in Los Angeles, including the Raymond Fault, the Newport-Inglewood Fault, the Hollywood Fault, and the Santa Monica Fault.

The Newport–Inglewood Fault Zone

This fault zone is the most notable feature within the basin that is a single strand with local (fault) splays.[10] The fault zone is also marked by low hills, scarps, and ten anticlinal folds in a right-stepping en echelon pattern.[17] It is located in the southwest portion of the basin and is a strike-slip margin. There are several oil fields that run parallel to this fault.

San Gabriel Valley area

The eastern end of the Raymond Fault branches from the San Andreas Fault in the San Gabriel Mountains where it forms the east fork of the San Gabriel River and Monrovia Canyon. The fault is very straight and follows a WbS path. It then goes straight west through Arcadia and the Santa Anita Racetrack in the San Gabriel Valley, and then forms the San Rafael Hills in San Marino and South Pasadena, and Raymond Hill after which the fault is named.

Los Angeles–Ventura areas

The fault continues west to form the hills of Highland Park, the lower eastern Santa Monica Mountains from Dodger StadiumSilver Lake, and Griffith Park through the Hollywood Hillsabove the Sunset Strip and Studio City. Further west the Raymond Fault creates the higher central and western Santa Monica Mountains from Beverly Hills and along the southern San Fernando Valley to Thousand Oaks and Malibu, and on to Point Mugu at the Pacific Ocean. The fault then continues underwater to form the northern California Channel Islands, and beyond to where it terminates.

Why Flags Matter

Why Los Angeles Needs A New Flag

As was stated in the recent online petition:

Los Angeles is currently undergoing a profound transformation. Development is booming, neighborhoods are thriving, and the very heart of our city is growing and adapting to meet the demands of an ever-changing 21st century. We are not just home to celluloid dreams and iconic landscapes, but also to a growing tech industry, world-class cultural centers, and the fastest growing mass transit system in the country. We are in the midst of a stunning revival and, as such, will host the 2028 Olympics. We have set a course to strengthen and transform our city, to create a more sustainable L.A., and right now all eyes are on us. It’s time we show the world how beautiful, creative, and united we truly are.

Sign the online petition and click below to purchase a memento of your favorite design.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.